Ballon d’Ór 2022: Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema wins the men’s individual award for the first time

Real Madrid striker, Karim Benzema has won the Ballon d’Or for the first time in his football career.

The Frenchman becomes only the second player aside from Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to win the award since 2008. Benzema’s Real Madrid team-mate Luka Modric won the prize in 2018.

Ballon d’Or is awarded for performance in the 2021-22 season, rather than the calendar year. Last season, Benzema was in top form as he helped his team win La Liga and the UEFA Champions League.


The Real Madrid striker scored 44 goals in 46 appearances in all competitions in a season.

Bayern Munich’s Sadio Mane came second, Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne came third and Robert Lewandowski, who won the Gerd Muller award tonight came fourth.

Related posts

Antonio Conte appointed Tottenham head coach following Nuno Espirito Santo sacking


Agent of Liverpool star Mohamed Salah expresses anger at Jurgen Klopp with reckless tweet after forward was substituted in Chelsea defeat


Australia becomes the first World Cup team to slam Qatar over the deaths of up to 6,500 foreign workers building stadiums for the event


Leave a Comment