“I made mistake in World Cup final” – Referee, Marciniak makes shocking confession

The World Cup ended an exciting conclusion on December 18 when Argentina defeated France on spot-kick penalties, Newspremises reports.

Argentina players continue their fervent celebrations while France players have since sent out apologies letters to their supporters.

Since league play is expected to resume the following week, both teams have returned home as the players get ready to head back to their respective clubs.


But to some supporters it’s not yet over. An online petition has now emerged from France, demanding that the World Cup final be replayed, and is quickly gathering pace with close to 200,000 fans having signed the petition so far at the time of writing.

However, the referee who took charge of the final, Szymon Marciniak has now come out to say he made a mistake during the game.

Marciniak became the first official from Poland to oversee the biggest game in world football last Sunday.

He has received plenty of applause from pundits and fans for his performance.

Among Marciniak’s highlight were three rightfully awarded penalties and booking French striker Marcus Thuram for diving without consulting VAR.

However, the 41-year-old has confessed it was not a perfect outing for him.

“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport.PL.

“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.

“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card.

“It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.”

Related posts

World Cup 2022: Messi and Argentina warned by Deschamps ahead of final


Ukraine set for first friendlies against France and North Macedonia since the Russian conflict


De Gea reveals what he felt after making some incredible saves during Man United 1-1 draw with Chelsea


Leave a Comment